Saturday, 30 July 2011

Body of Sin by Eve Silver (ARC)

Body of Sin (Hqn)Title: Body of Sin
Author: Eve Silver
Series: The Otherkins (book #4)
Previous in series: Sins of the Flesh

My rating: 4.5 Stars
**Warning**: This review is for the 4th book in the series and as such may contain spoilers. You may wish to skip it until after you have read the previous books.

Synopsis: Following his resurrection, Lokan Krayl still finds himself trapped in purgatory with no way out until a woman from his past arrives to guide him through the Twelve Gates. Bryn Carr is a woman with secrets who tricked Lokan once before. Can he trust her to lead him toward salvation?

Review: A fantastic conclusion to the series, which MUST be read in order to full appreciate the complex storyline and impressive world building.   

The story and characters are beautifully written. Lokan and Bryn’s relationship is gritty and emotional. The fact that they have known each other for seven years and share a daughter contributes to the sensitivity and intensity of their connection. The flashback scenes to when they first met are woven seamlessly into the storyline and are crucial to understanding their bond. So often this kind of information is either missing or poorly scripted but this is definitely not the case in Body of Sin.  

The plot continues where Sins of the Flesh left off and had me hooked from the get go. I could barely put the book down for bathroom breaks and read it in less than 6 hours. While the resolution of the Soul Reapers' conflict with Sutekh is not particularly original, it was entertaining and extremely satisfying. The inclusion of tidbits about both Lokan and Bryn's brothers was also enjoyable and I wonder if Silver isn't setting up for another trilogy with the Falconer brothers as the main protagonists – that is definitely a series I would read.

The only thing missing from the book to make this book absolute perfection is an epilogue that follows up on the brothers and their mates.

Body of Sin is scheduled for release on August 23, 2011. An advance copy of the book was provided to me for review by the publisher and


Post a Comment